LibGuides: MRC Year 1 Recommended Resources: Biochemistry

Biochemistry

Faculty Notes

We recommend that you get a book with good illustrations for personal use and use the comprehensive reference books as needed from the MRC.

Please do not use Boron, W. & Boulpaep, E. Medical Physiology: A Cellular and Molecular Approach (from the Cell and Molecular Biology resource list) as a primary biochemistry resource--it may not be appropriate for specific topics.

Textbooks for Students Without a Background in Biochemistry

Medical Biochemistry, 6th ed. by John W. Baynes (Editor); Marek H. Dominiczak (Editor)
Call Number: QU 4 B361m 2022

ISBN: 9780323834506

Publication Date: 2022-09-07

Faculty Note: "Good combination of basic biochemistry with clinical correlations for several important medical conditions--diabetes, obesity, malnutrition, atherosclerosis, and cancer. Contains both organ-focused chapters addressing the biochemistry of the liver, muscle, kidney, bone, and lungs, as well as system-focused chapters highlighting the biochemistry of the immune and endocrine systems." - Dr. R. Weilbaecher
Librarian Note: Also available electronically through ClinicalKey.
Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry, 6th ed. by Michael A. Lieberman; Alisa Peet
Call Number: QU 4 M346b 2023

ISBN: 9781975150143

Publication Date: 2022-08-25

Faculty Note: "This biochemistry text is a particularly useful resource for metabolism. It breaks down human metabolism in an easy to digest manner, and offers numerous clinical vignettes." - Dr. R. Weilbaecher
Principles of Medical Biochemistry, 4th ed. by Gerhard Meisenberg; William H. Simmons
Call Number: QU 340M515p 2017

ISBN: 9780323296168

Publication Date: 2016-11-28

Faculty Note: "Another good biochemistry text that integrates basic science with clinical applications. Good clinical cases and USMLE Step 1 style questions. Nice illustrations." - Dr. R. Weilbaecher
Librarian Note: Also available electronically through ClinicalKey.

Textbooks for Students With a Background in Biochemistry

Medical Biochemistry at a Glance, 3rd ed. by J. G. Salway
Call Number: QU 4 G815m 2012

ISBN: 0470654511

Publication Date: 2012-02-13

Faculty Note: "A bare bones overview of select biochemistry topics with pertinent details and illustrations. Best to use the MRC copies rather than purchasing." - Dr. R. Weilbaecher
Metabolism at a Glance, 4th ed. by J. G. Salway
Call Number: Oversize QU 120 S186m 2016

ISBN: 9780470674710

Publication Date: 2017-02-06

Faculty Note: "Effective illustrations for learning metabolic pathways. Good overview and pertinent details. The other "... at a Glance" books are good also. Best to use the MRC copies rather than purchasing." - Dr. R. Weilbaecher

Reference / Board Review Books

Textbook of Biochemistry with Clinical Correlations, 7th ed. by Thomas M. Devlin (Editor)
Call Number: QU 4 T355 2010

ISBN: 9780470281734

Publication Date: 2010-01-19

Faculty Note: "A fairly comprehensive reference book of basic biochemistry with good clinical content." - Dr. R. Weilbaecher
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry, 8th ed. by Emine E. Abali; Susan D. Cline; David S. Franklin; Susan M. Viselli
Call Number: QU 18 C451 2021

ISBN: 9781975155063

Publication Date: 2021-04-20

Faculty Note: "Helpful illustrations and clinical applications are the main merits of this review book." - Dr. R. Weilbaecher
Integrative Medical Biochemistry: Examination and Board Review by Michael W. King
Call Number: QU 18.2 K53i 2014

ISBN: 9780071786126

Publication Date: 2014-07-04

Faculty Note: "An in-depth review book of medical biochemistry which integrates physiology and pathology. Good illustrations and includes 500+ USMLE Step 1 style questions and additional MCQs with explanations for each answer." - Dr. R. Weilbaecher
Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry, 8th ed. by David L. Nelson; Michael M. Cox
Call Number: QU 4 L5233p 2021

ISBN: 9781319228002

Publication Date: 2021-01-29

Faculty Note: basic science biochemistry reference book." - Dr. R. Weilbaecher
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry, 32nd ed. by Peter J. Kennelly; Kathleen M. Botham; Owen McGuinness; Victor W. Rodwell; P. Anthony Weil
Call Number: QU 4 H294r 2023

ISBN: 9781260469943

Publication Date: 2022-09-07

Faculty Note: "Helpful illustrations and clinical case studies are the main merits of this review book." - Dr. R. Weilbaecher

Biochemistry & Genetics

Mitochondrial Disorders Caused by Nuclear Genes by Lee-Jun C. Wong (Editor)
Call Number: N/A

ISBN: 9781461437215

Publication Date: 2012-09-18

Faculty Note: "This is a comprehensive text that explores mitochondrial diseases originating from mutations in nuclear genes. These disorders impact mitochondrial function, leading to various clinical manifestations. For medical students early in their studies, this book might feel advanced. Pair this text with a more introductory resource, such as the sixth edition of Medical Genetics by Jorde, Carey, and Bramshad (2020), which is a concise and clear textbook, available through ClinicalKey, that is suitable for those new to medical genetics." - Dr. Young
Librarian Note: Not in MRC collection, but a PDF download is available through Springer. Click the linked title to access it.
Physician's Guide to the Diagnosis, Treatment, and Follow-Up of Inherited Metabolic Diseases, 2nd ed. by Nenad Blau; Carlo Dionisi Vici; Carlos R. Ferreira; Christine Vianey-Saban; Clara D. M. van Karnebeek
Call Number: QU 265 P578 2022

ISBN: 9783030677275

Publication Date: 2021-09-01
Pediatric Endocrinology and Inborn Errors of Metabolism by Kyriakie Sarafoglou; Georg F. Hoffmann; Karl S. Roth
Call Number: N/A

ISBN: 9780071439152

Publication Date: 2008-12-24

Librarian Note: This book is out of print and is not available in the MRC collection, but can be requested from the Springfield Medical Library and other I-Share Institutions."
Goldman-Cecil Medicine, 2-Volume Set, 27th ed. by Lee Goldman; Kathleen A. Cooney
Call Number: WB 100 C3888 2024

ISBN: 9780323930383

Publication Date: 2023-09-01

Faculty Note: "Chapter 189: Approach to Inborn Errors of Metabolism provides a good overview of the genetic determinants, clinical presentation, and diagnostic evaluation of inborn errors of metabolism." - Dr. Davie
Librarian Note: Also available electronically through ClinicalKey.
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 22nd. ed. by Robert M. Kliegman; Nathan J. Blum; Robert C. Tasker; Karen M. Wilson; Joseph W. St Geme III; Abigail M. Schuh; Clara L. Mack
Call Number: WS 100.3 N424 2025

ISBN: 9780323883054

Publication Date: 2024-04-01

Faculty Note: "Chapter 104: An Approach to Inborn Errors of Metabolism provides a good overview of the detection and screening of inborn errors of metabolism in the pediatric population." - Dr. Davie
Librarian Note: Also available electronically through ClinicalKey.
Williams Textbook of Endocrinology, 15th ed. by Clifford J. Rosen (Editor); Peter A. Kopp (Editor); Shlomo Melmed (Editor); Richard J. Auchus (Editor); Allison B. Goldfine (Editor)
Call Number: WK 100 T355 2020

ISBN: 9780323932301

Publication Date: 2024-09-13

Faculty Note: "Chapter 39, pp. 1576-1605: Hypoglycemia focuses on the causes and treatment of hypoglycemia. The chapter contains a thorough discussion of the inborn errors of metabolism that result in enzymatic deficiencies in carbohydrates, protein, and fat metabolism that result in hypoglycemia that develops in infants." - Dr. Davie
Librarian Note: Also available electronically through ClinicalKey.

Articles

(ClinicalKey) Inborn Errors of Metabolism Overview: Pathophysiology, Manifestations, Evaluation, and Management

Jearn-Marie Saudubray, M.D. and Àngels Garcia-Cazorla MD, PhD.
Pediatric Clinics of North America, 2018-04-01, Volume 65, Issue 2, Pages 179-208

Faculty Note: "A good overview of inborn errors of metabolism (IEM) from a clinical perspective. The review covers the general categories, detection, and treatment of IEM." - Dr. Davie

(Medscape) Inborn Errors of Metabolism

Debra L. Weiner, M.D., Ph.D.

Librarian Note: A free MedScape account is required to access this article.

(Medscape) Mitochondrial Disorders Affecting the Nervous System

R.H. Haas, MB, BChir; Z. Zolkipli, MB, ChB
Seminars in Neurology, 2014, Volume 34, Issue 3, Pages 321-340

Librarian Note: A free MedScape account is required to access this article.

(Medscape) Articles on Pediatrics: Genetics and Metabolic Disease

A collection of various articles on rare genetic disorders, sorted into two categories: "Genetics" and "Metabolic Disease"

Websites

Stanford Pathways of Human Metabolism

Stanford Pathways of Human Metabolism is an overview of human metabolism. While not exhaustive, the content was selected to illustrate key metabolic pathways and their interrelationships, including metabolites, enzymes, and cofactors that underlie human health and disease.

MRC Year 1 Recommended Resources: Biochemistry

Jump To: Textbooks for Students Without a Background in Biochemistry | Textbooks for Students With a Background in Biochemistry | Biochemistry Reference/Board Review Books | Biochemistry & Genetics | Articles | Websites