Anatomy - Gross - MRC Year 1 Recommended Resources - LibGuides at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine

Anatomy - Gross

Faculty Notes

Anatomy includes a few main types of resources, of which you'll find recommended examples below:

Anatomy Textbooks, containing mostly drawings and descriptions, medical imaging, clinical correlations, and tables of information
Anatomy Atlases, containing either labeled photographs or artistic renditions of cadaveric dissections--very useful in the dissection lab when trying to find structures or learn spatial relationships
Anatomy Dissectors, providing instruction on how to dissect in the lab, where to make incisions, etc. We tend to provide this information to you in dissection guides we have developed for each of your anatomy labs

- Dr. D. Sarko

Anatomy Textbooks

Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5th ed. by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell
Call Number: QS 4 D762g 2024
ISBN: 9780323934237
Publication Date: 2023-03-23
Faculty Note: "This Americanized version of the classic/British Gray's Anatomy has excellent illustrations and many very helpful summary tables. It also has excellent clinical correlations, surface anatomy, medical imaging, and example case
studies." - Dr. D. Sarko
Librarian Note: Also available electronically through ClinicalKey.
Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy, 9th ed. by Arthur F. Dalley II; Anne M. R. Agur
Call Number: QS 4 M822c 2023
ISBN: 9781975154066
Publication Date: 2022-03-25
Faculty Note: "As with Drake's Gray's Anatomy, this is also a very comprehensive text with excellent illustrations and summary tables, along with clinical correlations, surface anatomy, medical imagine, and example case studies." - Dr. D. Sarko
Moore's Essential Clinical Anatomy, 7th ed. by Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley II
Call Number: QS 39 M822e 2019
ISBN: 9781975174248
Publication Date: 2023-01-12
Faculty Note: "This is an abbreviated version of Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy, sufficient for learning fundamental and clinical anatomy. It includes imaging and clinical correlations." - Dr. D. Sarko
Gray's Anatomy, 42nd ed. by Susan Standring (Editor)
Call Number: QS 4 G779b 2021
ISBN: 9780702077050
Publication Date: 2020-10-28
Faculty Note: "This is the highly celebrated text and reference known more simply as "Gray's Anatomy" or "British Gray's". With a rich history and many previous editions, this text is widely regarded as the bible of anatomy and represents perhaps the foremost authority on the subject of human anatomy." - Dr. D. Sarko
Librarian Note: Also available electronically through ClinicalKey.
Snell's Clinical Anatomy by Regions, 11th ed. by Lawrence E. Wineski
Call Number: QS 4 S671c 2025
ISBN: 9781975194093
Publication Date: 2024-03-12
Faculty Note: "This is yet another comprehensive text with excellent illustrations, numerous and helpful summary tables, and excellent clinical correlations, surface anatomy, medical imaging, and example case studies." - Dr. D. Sarko

Anatomy Atlases

Atlas of Clinical Gross Anatomy, 2nd ed. by Kenneth P. Moses; Pedro B. Nava; John C. Banks; Darrell K. Petersen
Call Number: QS 17 A8811 2013
ISBN: 9780323077798
Publication Date: 2012-05-07
Faculty Note: "Just a fantastic atlas with full-page color photographs of actual cadaveric dissections, as well as some diagrams and imaging plates. Similar to the atlas by Rohen, et al. below--both are excellent." - Dr. D. Sarko
Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach, 8th ed. by Frank H. Netter
Call Number: QS 17 N474a 2023
ISBN: 9780323680424
Publication Date: 2022-04-19
Faculty Note: "Who doesn't love Netter? Not me. This atlas depicts some of the best illustrations (rather than photographs of actual cadaveric dissections) of human anatomy ever." - Dr. D. Sarko
Librarian Note: Also available electronically through ClinicalKey.
Photographic Atlas of Anatomy, 9th ed. by Johannes W. Rohen; Chihiro Yokochi; Elke Lutjen-Drecoll
Call Number: QS 17 R737c 2022
ISBN: 9781975151348
Publication Date: 2021-04-15
Faculty Note: "SImilar to Moses, et al. (above), this atlas also features full-color photographs of actual cadaveric dissections, with accompanying schematic drawings and diagnostic images. As with the Moses atlas, the photographs depict anatomical structures more realistically than illustrations and show students exactly what they will see in the dissection lab." - Dr. D. Sarko
Atlas of Anatomy, 4th ed. by Anne M. Gilroy; Brian MacPherson; Jamie Wikenheiser; Michael Schuenke; Erik Schulte; Udo Schumacher
ISBN: 9781684202034
Publication Date: 2020-06-25
Faculty Note: "Also helpful, this atlas includes illustrations as well as radiology sections, schematics, and clinical correlations." - Dr. D. Sarko
Librarian Note: MRC collection contains prior editions, but not the 4th edition.

Anatomy Dissectors

Grant's Dissector, 18th ed. by Alan J. Detton
Call Number: QS 130 S255g 2025
ISBN: 9781975193669
Publication Date: 2024-03-12
Faculty Note: "This dissector is an excellent guide, although it definitely does not need to be purchased, because we generally provide information on how to dissect in the lab (where to make incisions, etc) in each of your anatomy labs, and some of our instructions will differ from Grant's Dissector." - Dr. D. Sarko

Anatomy Websites

Radiopaedia

"Excellent free radiology reference. Searchable for terms of interest (e.g., pneumothorax) and includes fantastic images as well as further details." - Dr. D. Sarko

The Stanford Medicine 25

"Open-access resource provided by Stanford University. This provides a range of information, from lymph node or pulmonary exams to deep tendon reflexes." - Dr. D. Sarko

""PubMed Central (PMC) is a free, full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)." This is a go-to resource for finding primary sources of published research articles." - Dr. D. Sarko

For additional information on searching PubMed, see the Medical Library's guide for Finding Full-Text from PubMed

Stat Pearls

"Want to know more about anemia or abducens nerve palsy? It's all here." - Dr. D. Sarko

For an example, see the Stat Pearls page for pneumothorax

MRC Year 1 Recommended Resources: Anatomy - Gross

Jump To: Anatomy Textbooks | Anatomy Atlases | Anatomy Dissectors | Anatomy Websites