Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical Library


Citing Resources (EndNote)

Search, import and manage citations, create bibliographies and cite while you write.

About EndNote and EndNote Online

With the recent release of EndNote20, the Medical Library is currently working on updating our training materials. While most features and functions remain the same and in similar locations as in EndNote X9, the interface looks fairly different. Until the Library's training materials are complete, if you have questions about EndNote 20 consider visiting the official EndNote Training and Support page (https://clarivate.com/webofsciencegroup/support/endnote/) for handouts and video tutorials, or contact a librarian at reference@siumed.edu with specific questions. 

EndNote is a software tool for publishing and managing bibliographies. Using this product, writers save countless hours of typing and interpreting style requirements when creating bibliographies for curricula vitae, manuscripts, thesis/dissertations, grant proposals, term papers and other publications.

With either EndNote software or EndNote Online you can do the following:

  1. Collect references from electronic and traditional sources.
  2. Organize your references for your research topics and papers.
  3. Create a formatted bibliography for your paper or cite references while you write.

EndNote Desktop Software

The School of Medicine has a site license for EndNote software, and EndNote desktop is available to SIU Medicine students, residents, faculty, and staff. These licenses expire upon departure from SIU.

Request the software from techsupport@siumed.edu. In your request, specify whether it is to be installed on an SIU or personal  computer, and whether you need the Windows or Mac version of the software.

EndNote Online

EndNote Online, a web-based version of Endnote, is available to SIU School of Medicine users through the Library's subscription to Web of Science. EndNote Online is also available to individuals who have purchased a copy of the EndNote software program.

Video Tutorials

For your convenience, each module includes a Table of Contents (ToC) and Closed Captions (CC). If the ToC disrupts the viewing experience, turn it off by clicking the bulleted list icon in the lower right of the play bar. 

Image of video player toolbar with Table of Contents button circled.

You can also drag the CC around the screen if necessary or desired.


Navigation


Part I: Getting Started With EndNote

 

 

 

 

Part II: Importing References

 

 

Part III: Organization & Resource Management

 

 

Part IV: EndNote Online - Syncing & Sharing Libraries

 

 

Part V: Creating Citations & Bibliographies

 

Find Full Text URL Path & Authentication

EndNote's "Find Full Text" feature is not compatible with Open Athens, the Library's authentication service, but you can link EndNote to the SIU Medical Library's Open URL to help search the Library's holdings for articles of interest.

Edit/EndNote Menu --> Preferences --> Find Full Text

Open URL Path: https://i-share-SIM.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01CARLI_SIM/01CARLI_SIM:CARLI_SIM?
Authenticate With: Leave blank

To search the library's holdings for an EndNote reference, select the reference, open the Reference Menu --> URLs --> Open URL. This will open an internet browser to the Primo VE page for the article. Log in with your Open Athens credentials. If the Library has the article in our collection there will be a link to download the article full text. If it is not, you can use the "Request article via ILL" link to open an Interlibrary Loan request form, then copy and paste the citation information to the form. 

SIU Medical Library | 801 N Rutledge St.,Springfield, IL 62702 | (217) 545-2658

Contact Us

© 2018 SIU Board of Trustees | SIU Carbondale | EEO | Privacy Policy | Notice of Privacy Practices