Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical Library


Library Resources for Graduate and Medical Students

Using the Citation Linker to Find Known Articles

While the Medical Library transitions to a new system, some features may be unavailable.

If you already have your citation and want to see if the Library has access to the full text, use either the Library's Citation Linker or the PubMed Single Citation Matcher.

You can find the Library Citation Linker on the Library homepage in the "Find" Menu.

You can also access the Citation Linker from the within the Library catalog by clicking the "Fetch Item" option from the navigation menu.

Fill in as much citation information (title, author, journal, etc.) as you can, or use the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) or PMID (PubMed IDentifier) for the article.

Click "submit"

A new tab will open showing a page with the article's citation information. Check that this is the correct article.

To see all access options available to SIU-SOM affiliates, click "Sign In" in the upper right corner of the screen.

In the pop-up box, click "SIU School of Medicine Users"

This will open an OpenAthens log in page. Log in with your Open Athens account. You can use your siu.edu email address or the username that was assigned to you. Your password will be what you set it as when activating your OpenAthens account.

Contact ejournals@siumed.edu for assistance activating  your Open Athens account. 

Once logged in, you can see whether the Library has access to the article electronically ("View Online") or in print ("Get It").

If there are no full text links, and the library does not subscribe to the journal in print, there will be a "Request a copy" link.

Clicking the link will open the Medical Library's  Interlibrary Loan request form in a new tab.

Fill out all required fields of the form. Refer back to the article summary page to copy/paste the necessary citation information. Provide the PMID or DOI for best results.

If the Library is able to fill Interlibrary loan requests they will generally arrive within about one week, usually as PDFs.


PubMed links to their Single Citation Matcher on the front page. It does not include the option to search by PMID or DOI, however, if you know the PMID you can use it in the general PubMed Search box.

undefined

See the Searching PubMed sections of this guide for SIU affiliates or non-affiliates for more information on finding article full-text when using PubMed.

Searching the Catalog for Online Journals

While the Medical Library transitions to a new system, some features may be unavailable.

To see if the Medical Library has access to the full text of a specific journal title, use the library catalog's Journal Search section. To open the catalog, hover over the Find menu and click "Search the Catalog:"

 

Select "Journal Search" on the catalog navigation menu.
You can use the search box to search for the journal by name or keyword, or use the "Journals by Category" section to the left to browse by topic. For medical journals, expand the "Health & Biological Sciences" heading. The subeadings "Medicine," "Psychiatry," and "Surgery & Anesthesiology" may be of particular interest.

 

 

If a journal is available electronically, there will be an "Available Online" link in the journal's entry on the results page: 
In the catalog record there will be a list of all the platforms or sites for which the Library has electronic access. There may also be information such as which dates are included in our subscription, any embargo periods for the online content, and the content provider.

If not on an SIU-networked computer, you will be prompted to log-in with your Open Athens log-in. Contact ejournals@siumed.edu for assistance creating an Open Athens account.

In most cases Full Text links will direct to the publisher's site or a database such as ClincialKey. Navigate to the Archives or Past Issues section to to view the specific journal issue and look through the table of contents until you find the article you're interested in.  Most publisher sites and databases will also have a search box where you can search for the article title, topic, or author if you do not know the full citation.

If the library subscribes to the journal in print by not online, you can come to the Library to read and/or photocopy articles. If the library does not subscribe to a journal, SIU Medicine affiliates can request individual articles (not full issues or volumes) via Interlibrary Loan. ILL requests are generally filled in a few business days at no cost to the patron.

Finding Full Text Articles Using Databases Video Tutorial

PubMed@SIUMED

While the Medical Library transitions to a new system, some features may be unavailable.

Why use our PubMed@SIUMED link to search PubMed?

  • Find full text if available
  • Find print sources available in the Library
  • Request articles not available online or in print
  • Article request form automatically includes the article citation information.

The Library's paid subscriptions often include articles that are not available for free through PubMed. If you are searching from the School of Medicine Campus or you are an affiliate searching from home do not use the "full text" limiter when searching PubMed. Doing so will filter out articles you can access through library resources. Instead, access PubMed through the PubMed@SIUMED link found on  the Medical Library's "Key Resources list." Using this link allows you to easily locate the full text for articles the library pays for. This information will be displayed when viewing the list of results in the Abstract display format.
After running your search, click on the article title of interest to display the results in the Abstract format.

In the upper right of the reference's page you will see a publisher icon, the FindIt@SIUMED button, or both. Use the "find It @ SIU-SM" button for best results; this will display all access options available to SIU-SOM affiliates and allow authentication from off-site when necessary. 

 

A new tab will open showing a page with the article's citation information. Check that this is the correct article.

To see all access options available to SIU-SOM affiliates, click "Sign In" in the upper right corner of the screen.

In the pop-up box, click "SIU School of Medicine Users"

This will open an OpenAthens log in page. Log in with your Open Athens account.

Contact ejournals@siumed.edu for assistance creating or logging in to your Open Athens account. 

Once logged in, you can see whether the Library has access to the article electronically ("View Online") or in print ("Get It").

If there are no full text links, and the library does not subscribe to the journal in print, there will be a "Request a copy" link.

Clicking the link will open the Medical Library's  Interlibrary Loan request form in a new tab.

Fill out all required fields of the form. Refer back to the article summary page to copy/paste the necessary citation information. Provide the PMID or DOI for best results.

If the Library is able to fill Interlibrary loan requests they will generally arrive within about one week, usually as PDFs.

Google Scholar & Find It @ SIUSM

undefined You can add "Find It @ SIU" link to Google Scholar results by adding a "Library Link" in your Google Scholar Settings. Open the Google Scholar menu (icon in the upper left of the page) and click "Settings." 
Click "Library Links" then use the search box to search for SIU. Tic the box next to "Southern Illinois University School of Medicine - Find It @ SIUSM" and click "Save." 
Now your Google Scholar search results will include links to check the Library's holdings for the item. You may see a "Find It @ SIUSM" link to the right of the result, or you may need to click the "more" link underneath the result and then select "Check Holdings @ SIUSM."

A new tab will open showing a page with the article's citation information. Check that this is the correct article.

To see all access options available to SIU-SOM affiliates, click "Sign In" in the upper right corner of the screen.

In the pop-up box, click "SIU School of Medicine Users"

This will open an OpenAthens log in page. Log in with your Open Athens account. Your username was assigned to you and will begin with the prefix "siumed."

Contact circulation@siumed.edu for assistance creating or logging in to your Open Athens account. 

Once logged in, you can see whether the Library has access to the article electronically ("View Online") or in print ("Get It").

If there are no full text links, and the library does not subscribe to the journal in print, there will be a "Request a copy" link.

Clicking the link will open the Medical Library's  Interlibrary Loan request form in a new tab.

Fill out all required fields of the form. Refer back to the article summary page to copy/paste the necessary citation information. Provide the PMID or DOI for best results.

If the Library is able to fill Interlibrary loan requests they will generally arrive within about one week, usually as PDFs.

Google Scholar Search

SIU Medical Library | 801 N Rutledge St.,Springfield, IL 62702 | (217) 545-2658

Contact Us

© 2018 SIU Board of Trustees | SIU Carbondale | EEO | Privacy Policy | Notice of Privacy Practices