LibGuides: Year 2 Recommended Resources: HII Unit

Microbiology Textbooks

Review of Medical Microbiology & Immunology: A Guide to Clinical Infectious Diseases, 17th ed. by Warren E. Levinson; Peter Chin-Hong; Elizabeth A. Joyce; Jesse Nussbaum; Brian Schwartz
Call Number: Available Online
ISBN: 9781264267088
Publication Date: 2022-01-13
Succinct text that covers microbiology and immunology and has board review questions. This is the principal microbiology textbook for the course and relevant chapters will be referred to during Resource Sessions. Older editions are available in print.
Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple, 9th ed. by Mark Gladwin; William Trattler; Scott Mahan
Call Number: QW 4 G543c 2019
ISBN: 1935660330
Publication Date: 2019-01-02
This book has many aids to help students remember the facts necessary to master the subject of infectious disease, but is superficial and short on explanations. The 7th edition (shown) is available at the Medical Library.

The Immune System, 5th ed. by Peter Parham
Call Number: QW 504 P229i 2015
ISBN: 9780815344667
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Text specifically geared for undergraduate, medical, dental, and pharmacy students in immunology courses. Contains many medical examples to illustrate points and contains end-of-chapter questions to facilitate student learning (essay, multiple choice, case study questions). The 5th edition (shown) is available at the Medical Library.
Janeway's Immunobiology, 10th ed. by Kenneth Murphy; Casey Weaver
Call Number: QW 504 M978j 2017
ISBN: 0815345054
Publication Date: 2016-03-22
Intended as an "introductory" textbook, it is considered one of the most comprehensive texts in immunology. Thorough yet understandable for MS II level students. The 9th edition (shown) is available at the Medical Library.

Brody's Human Pharmacology, 6th ed. by Lynn Wecker
Call Number: QV 4 B864 2019 (also available online)
ISBN: 9780323476522
Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Provides a succinct overview of the most important aspects of pharmacology including concepts, clinical applications and side effects of pharmacology, with emphasis on practical applications. Includes USMLE-style self-assessment questions with answers and rationales.
Antibiotics Simplified, 5th ed. by Jason C. Gallagher; Conan MacDougall
Call Number: QV 39 G162a 2018
ISBN: 9781284111293
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
This succinct pocket-sized book is an excellent resource for learning the clinical usefulness of antibiotics and antifungals. It includes today's spectrum of activity, common side effects, and important facts on pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics. The 4th edition (shown) is available at the Medical Library.

Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th ed. by Vinay Kumar; Abul K. Abbas; Jon C. Aster
Call Number: QZ 4 R6354 2021 (also available online)
ISBN: 9780323531139
Publication Date: 2020-06-15
Main pathology reference book that will be used throughout the entire pathology course. Covers the essentials that students need to know for clinical care and Step 1.
Robbins and Cotran Review of Pathology by Edward C. Klatt; Vinay Kumar
Call Number: QZ 18.2 K63r 2022
ISBN: 9780323640220
Publication Date: 2021-07-01
A companion question book to "Pathologic Basis of Disease." Provides a comprehensive review of pathology using board-styled multiple choice questions and includes explanations for each vignette question.