Skip to Main Content

MRC PA Recommended Resources: Clinical Rotations

Required & recommended resources for SIU SoM PA students

Jump To: Emergency Medicine | Family Practice | Internal Medicine | Musculoskeletal Medicine | Obstetrics / Gynecology | Pediatric Medicine | Psychiatric / Community Medicine | Surgery

Clinical Rotations

Course(s): PA 581, 582, 583

Instructor(s): Various clinical preceptors

Review Books

Books that are designed for USMLE (US Medical Licensing Exams) Step 2 & 3 are appropriate for your rotation studying.

Some recommended series are:

PANCE (Physician Assistant National Certifying Exam) Review
Appleton & Lange Review
Boards and Wards
First Aid Series
Blueprints Series
In A Page Series
Tarascon Pocket Guides

Emergency Medicine

Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th ed. by Donald Yealy; Garth D. Meckler; J. Stephan Stapczynski; David M. Cline; Stephen H. Thomas; Judith E. Tintinalli; O. John Ma
Call Number: WB 105 T593e 2020

ISBN: 9781260019933

Publication Date: 2019-10-18

Librarian Note: Also available electronically through Access Medicine.
Tarascon Primary Care Pocketbook by Joseph S. Esherick
Call Number: N/A

ISBN: 9781449665753

Publication Date: 2014-12-05

Librarian Note: Not available in MRC physical collection. Requestable through iShare.
The Washington Manual of Critical Care, 3rd ed. by Marin Kollef
Call Number: N/A

ISBN: 9781496328519

Publication Date: 2017-12-16

Librarian Note: Not available in MRC physical collection. Requestable through iShare.

Family Medicine

Textbook of Family Medicine, 9th ed. by Robert E. Rakel; David P. Rakel (Editor)
Call Number: N/A

ISBN: 9780323239905

Publication Date: 2015-04-01

Librarian Note: MRC physical collection includes the 7th & 8th editions (WB 110 T355 2007 & 2011). 9th edition requestable through iShare.
Also available electronically through ClinicalKey.

Internal Medicine

Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024, 63rd ed. by Monica Gandhi; Maxine A. Papadakis; Stephen J. McPhee; Michael W. Rabow; Kenneth R. McQuaid
Call Number: WB 141 C976 2024

ISBN: 9781265556037

Publication Date: 2023-09-04

Librarian Note: 2025 edition available electronically through Access Medicine.

Musculoskeletal Medicine

Essentials of Musculoskeletal Care, 5th ed. by April Armstrong; Mark Hubbard; Aaos American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
Call Number: N/A

ISBN: 9781284166859

Publication Date: 2018-06-28

Librarian Note: MRC physical collection includes the 4th edition (WE 140 E78 2010).
Clinical Rheumatology by Rohini Handa
Call Number: N/A

ISBN: 9789813348844

Publication Date: 2021-02-10

Librarian Note: Not available in MRC physical collection.

Obstetrics / Gynecology

Current Diagnosis & Treatment Obstetrics & Gynecology, 12th ed. by Alan H. DeCherney; Ashley S. Roman; Lauren Nathan; Neri Laufer
Call Number: WQ 100 C976 2019

ISBN: 9780071833905

Publication Date: 2019-02-12

Librarian Note: Also available electronically through Access Medicine.

Pediatric Medicine

CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics, 27th ed. by Maya Bunik; Myron J. Levin; Mark J. Abzug; Teri L. Schreiner
Call Number: WS 100 C976 2025

ISBN: 9781265739898

Publication Date: 2025-04-22

Librarian Note: Also available electronically through Access Medicine.
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics (2-Volume Set), 22nd ed. by Robert Kliegman (Editor); Joseph W. St. Geme III (Editor)
Call Number: WS 100.3 N424 2025

ISBN: 9780323883054

Publication Date: 2024-06-05

Librarian Note: Also available electronically through ClinicalKey.

Psychiatric / Community Medicine

Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry, 4th ed. by Nancy C. Andreasen; Donald W. Black
Call Number: N/A

ISBN: 1585622230

Publication Date: 2006-06-01

Librarian Note: 4th edition not available in MRC physical collection. Requestable through iShare.
MRC physical collection does include the 7th edition (WM 100 B557i 2021)
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-5-TR by American Psychiatric Association
Call Number: WM 15 D536 2022

ISBN: 9780890425756

Publication Date: 2022-03-18

Librarian Note: Also available electronically (click through to catalog record for access information).

Surgery

CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery, 16th ed. by Gerard M. Doherty
Call Number: WO 100 C976 2025

ISBN: 9781265449278

Publication Date: 2025-01-30

Librarian Note: Also available electronically through Access Medicine.

SIU Medical Library | 801 N Rutledge St.,Springfield, IL 62702 | (217) 545-2658

© 2018 SIU Board of Trustees | SIU Carbondale | EEO | Privacy Policy | Notice of Privacy Practices