LibGuides: Grants & Funding: Start Here

Recommended Resource: Pivot-RP Database

Pivot-RP is a comprehensive database of funding opportunities available through state, federal, non-profit, and foundation grantors. Pivot-RP also makes it easy to identify and communicate with potential collaborators at your institution and beyond via Pivot Profiles.

SIUSOM access to Pivot-RP is provided by the Office of Grants and Contracts.

Pivot-RP
Pivot-RP provides users quick and easy access to the right research opportunities, funding, and people.

Access Pivot-RP using the link in the "What is Pivot-RP" tab, or by going to www.pivot.proquest.com.
If you are on campus, you will be directed to SIU Carbondale's Pivot-RP platform. Click on the arrow icon in the top right corner of the screen, and then click Sign In.
1. Off campus users: Go to the Pivot-RP homepage and click on "Use login from my institution" and then follow the steps below.
Click on "Access via My Institution Login" and choose "Southern Illinois University School of Medicine" from the drop down menu.
Login using your SIU Medicine credentials.
Follow the onscreen steps to finish creating your Pivot-RP account.
Claim or create your Pivot profile in order to receive automatic funding recommendations.

You will only complete steps 5 and 6 the first time you access Pivot-RP. Follow steps 1-4 to continue signing in after account creation.

Need help finding funders?

Hannah Kline from the Office of Grants and Contracts is happy to provide trainings on Pivot-RP. She can also help you start searches and develop lists of funding prospects. Please email to schedule a meeting!

Claim your profile

Claiming and keeping your Pivot Profile updated enables better funding opportunity matching. It also increases visibility for you and your institutions, so you are more easily discovered by other users and potential collaborators.

You can view your profile while signed into Pivot-RP by clicking on your name in the top right corner of the screen, and then clicking "Your Profile."

Recommended information for your profile includes:

uploaded copy of your CV
description of your expertise
keywords for the different research areas you focus on

Searching help

Please contact the Office of Grants and Contracts for in-depth assistance with constructing effective searches in Pivot-RP and developing prospect lists. Below are links to different self-directed learning tools for Pivot-RP including videos and learning modules.

Pivot-RP YouTube Channel
The Pivot-RP YouTube channel contains many short tutorials on how to use Pivot-RP, including videos on basic searching, advanced searching, and prospect management.
Pivot-RP Guide
A comprehensive online guide that details what Pivot-RP is and the content within the database. There are numerous free learning tools provided: e-learning modules, webinar recordings, presentations, and more.

Federal & State Funding Resources

Federal Funding

Grants.gov
U.S. government web site for information and applications for all federal grant programs. Grants.gov is a central storehouse for information on over 1,000 grant programs and provides access to approximately $500 billion in annual awards.
HHS Grants
From the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Information for prospective and current grantees about HHS grant programs, the grant application processes, and grant management.
National Science Foundation Grants and Awards
The NSF is an independent federal agency.The NSF funds research and education in science and engineering, through grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements. Included here are links to funding opportunities, proposal preparation, award administration, and application forms that can be printed or downloaded
NIH Funding Opportunities
A central resource for NIH grants and funding. Search for medical and behavioral research grant policies, guidelines, and funding opportunities as well as application forms and procedures.
CDC - NIOSH Grants and Funding - Extramural Research and Training Programs - Funding Opportunities
The NIOSH extramural research and training programs include diverse portfolios of investigator initiated research, mentored research scientist career development awards, training programs, and small business innovation research projects. Multidisciplinary education and research centers, state surveillance programs, and global occupational health initiatives complement the breadth and depth of extramural research and training at NIOSH.

State of Illinois Funding

Illinois Catalog of State Financial Assitance
The Catalog of State Financial Assistance (CSFA) is a single, authoritative, statewide, comprehensive source document of State financial assistance program information. Find links to lists of different active funding programs by state department.
Springfield Memorial Foundation
Springfield Memorial Foundation secures charitable gifts, identifies needs, and provides funding through grants that support patient care, education and research throughout Memorial Health and the Springfield community. The Foundation's mission is to exclusively promote, support, develop, encourage and accept funds for construction or remodeling, administrative purposes, staffing expenses and any other legitimate purpose of Springfield Memorial Hospital and Memorial Health, both Illinois not-for-profit corporations.