Library Displays and Exhibits

Panelists:
Betsy Goulet - DPA., Clinical Assistant Professor/CAST Coordinator in the School of Public Affairs and Administration, University of Illinois Springfield.
Shirley A. Johnson – Executive Director, Sangamon County Child Advocacy Center.
Dr. Careyana Brenham, MD. Residency Program Director of the SIU Family Medicine Residency Program and the Assistant Chief Medical Officer at SIU Family & Community Medicine.
Mary Dobbins, MD. Psychiatry, Associate Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine, Director of Integrated Care Services, Southern Illinois University Medical School.
Jennifer Oglesby, Detective, Springfield Police Department
Shelley Sankey, Illinois Department of Children and Family Services
James Stapleton Detective, Springfield Police Department

advances in science provide a powerful source of new ideas focused on the early years of life. Founded in 2006, the Center catalyzes local, national, and international innovation in policy and practice focused on children and families. We design, test, and implement these ideas in collaboration with a broad network of research, practice, policy, community, and philanthropic leaders. Together, we seek transformational impacts on lifelong learning, behavior, and both physical and mental health.

Chicago Children’s Advocacy Center and our partners are the front-line responders in Chicago to reports of child sexual abuse, as well as reports of physical abuse of children under age 3. Since opening our doors in 2001, we have served more than 30,000 children. ChicagoCAC is the city’s only not-for-profit organization that coordinates the efforts of child protection staff, law enforcement professionals, family advocates, medical experts and mental health clinicians under one roof.

HelpGuide: Harvard Health Publications, the consumer health publishing division of Harvard Medical School, is collaborating with HelpGuide. The articles below have been adapted from Harvard Health Publications and are available to HelpGuide's readers. Other HelpGuide Topics can be found at: https://www.helpguide.org/

Our vision is a future without violence that provides education, safety, justice, and hope. For more than 30 years, FUTURES has been providing groundbreaking programs, policies, and campaigns that empower individuals and organizations working to end violence against women and children around the world. Striving to reach new audiences and transform social norms, we train professionals such as doctors, nurses, judges, and athletic coaches on improving responses to violence and abuse. We also work with advocates, policy makers, and others to build sustainable community leadership and educate people everywhere about the importance of respect and healthy relationships. "Resources and Events" menu contains catalog of materials to download or order.

Home visiting provides family support and coaching through planned, regular visits with a trained professional based on a family’s needs and schedules. Home visiting is a voluntary program, and home visitors work with parents on practical parenting skills as well as family bonding before birth and as children grow up.
Through partnering with the home visitors, families learn how to improve their family’s health and provide better opportunities for their children.

Illinois CASA supports thirty local programs that recruit, train and manage CASA volunteers whose primary role is to advocate for the best interests of abused and neglected children in court. CASA volunteers are trained and supervised by their agencies and sworn to confidentiality by the Juvenile Judge of the Circuit Court. CASA volunteers gather objective information and report to the court regularly on the status of each child.

ILAIMH works to support the health social and emotional development of infants, toddlers and their families. through training, advocacy, research committees and more we are committed to making an impact.

Respite care provides temporary relief for caregivers from the ongoing responsibility of caring for an individual of any age with special needs who may be at risk of abuse or neglect. The Illinois Respite Coalition works closely with the Department of Child and Family Services and Prevent Child Abuse Illinois to be able to provide information to our families who may be at risk for abuse.

The National Center on Shaken Baby Syndrome is committed to prevent shaken baby syndrome and promote the well-being of infants generally through the development and implementation of programs, policy and research; and to support and educate families, caregivers and professionals.

Through treatment programs like Childhelp Advocacy Centers and Childhelp Group Homes designed to help children already affected by child abuse, and prevention programs like Childhelp Speak Up Be Safe for Educators, designed to educate children and aid in prevention, we can help change the lives of many.

National Children’s Alliance (NCA) is the national association and accrediting body for Children’s Advocacy Centers (CACs). Formed in 1988, NCA has been providing support, technical assistance, and quality assurance for CACs, while serving as a voice for abused children for more than 25 years. A children’s advocacy center is a child-friendly facility in which law enforcement, child protection, prosecution, mental health, medical and victim advocacy professionals work together to investigate abuse, help children heal from abuse, and hold offenders accountable.

Established by Congress in 2000, the National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) brings a singular and comprehensive focus to childhood trauma. NCTSN’s collaboration of frontline providers, researchers, and families is committed to raising the standard of care while increasing access to services. Combining knowledge of child development, expertise in the full range of child traumatic experiences, and dedication to evidence-based practices, the NCTSN changes the course of children’s lives by changing the course of their care.

pdf presentation of mission and programs

Founded in 1972 in Chicago, Prevent Child Abuse America works to promote the healthy development of children and prevent child abuse before it can occur in order to help children to grow up and contribute in their communities. Our 50 state Chapter Network works every day to promote the kind of strategies and activities that make a difference locally as well as nationally.

The mission of Prevent Child Abuse Illinois is to prevent child abuse by providing statewide leadership through education, support for community initiatives, and advocacy.

Voices for Illinois Children is an independent advocacy organization that champions strong public policies and investments for all children in our state.

One of the first domestic violence centers in the country, The Women's Center, Inc. was created in 1972 by a group of visionaries who recognized the need for a safe, secure environment for Southern Illinois women and their children. We are pro-choice in all aspects of women's social, educational, financial, family, and legal rights.

The Children's Advocacy Centers of Illinois (CACI) is dedicated to the development and growth of Illinois' Children's Advocacy Centers. CACI accomplishes this by offering its members a cadre of services which are rooted in the not-for-profit organization's driving principles: leadership, education and collaboration.

Each State has a system to receive and respond to reports of possible child abuse and neglect. Professionals and concerned citizens can call statewide hotlines, local child protective services, or law enforcement agencies to share their concerns.

The Pediatric Resource Center (PRC) is a community service program of the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria. The PRC also strives to enhance the community's response to the multi-faceted problem of child abuse and neglect through training and education. The Pediatric Resource Center, in partnership with the Children's Hospital of Illinois at OSF Saint Francis Medical Center, serves as a resource to the community and to child protection professionals throughout the state

The Sangamon County Child Advocacy Center coordinates the investigation, prosecution, and treatment of child sexual abuse cases. The center is able to reduce the trauma to child victims by utilizing a multidisciplinary team approach which includes the Department of Children and Family Services, Law Enforcement, the State’s Attorney’s Office, and the medical and mental health communities.

In February 2016, Illinois Children’s Justice Task Force released a new report,”The Urgent Need in Illinois for Unit-Based Multidisciplinary Teams to Investigate Child Abuse.” The report to the Illinois General Assembly (per Public Act 099-0023) offers recommendations to the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) directed at improving investigative, administrative, and judicial handling of child abuse cases, in a manner that limits additional trauma to the child victim.

by: Theodore P. Cross , Betsy Goulet, Jesse J. Helton, Emily Lux, Tamara Fuller. In Mandatory Reporting Laws and the Identification of Severe Child Abuse and Neglect, Volume 4 of the series Child Maltreatment pp 417-441 : 05 February 2015. Through a review of empirical and practice literature, this chapter describes the different outcomes that result from reporting child maltreatment—screen outs, substantiation, ongoing child protective service, child placement, and referral to differential response—and examines their frequency and predictors.
Full text available through SpringerLink.

8th annual Illinois walk for children will be held at Southernview Park Springfield IL May 29 2017

The 8th Biennial National Conference on Health and Domestic Violence aims to advance the health care system’s response to domestic violence. The conference attracts the nation’s leading medical, public health and family violence experts from across the U.S. with increased international participation. Workshops, scientific posters, and plenary sessions highlight the latest research and most innovative clinical responses to domestic violence, with a focus on the work being done by physicians, physician assistants, dentists, nurses, nurse midwives, mental and behavioral health providers, social workers, domestic violence experts, researchers and others.

list of local events in Illinois

October 19-20 2017, Lisle/Naperville Hilton The Annual Prevent Child Abuse Illinois Statewide Conference is a two-day conference that offers access to national speakers and cutting-edge information in the field of child abuse prevention, intervention and best practices.

Al Odhayani A, Watson WJ, Watson L. Behavioural consequences of child abuse. Canadian Family Physician. 2013;59(8):831-836. article via National Library of Medicine - PubMedCentral

A De Bellis, M. D., & A.B., A. Z. (2014). “The Biological Effects of Childhood Trauma.” Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Clinics of North America, 23(2), 185–222. (HHS Public Access manuscript). Trauma in childhood is a grave psychosocial, medical, and public policy problem that has serious consequences for its victims and for society. Chronic interpersonal violence in children is common worldwide. Developmental traumatology, the systemic investigation of the psychiatric and psychobiological effects of chronic overwhelming stress on the developing child, provides a framework and principles when empirically examining the neurobiological effects of pediatric trauma. http://doi.org/10.1016/j.chc.2014.01.002

CALiO™ Collections is an assortment of over 3,100 unrestricted full-text publications, videos, audio files, articles, reports, and more. The Child Abuse Library Online (CALiO™) is a service of the National Children’s Advocacy Center developed as a resource collection for professionals working in fields associated with child abuse. Since its launch in 2004, CALiO™ has provided authoritative resources that contribute to evidence-based practice, informed decision making and more effective services. Some resources require institutional subscriptions.

Childhood experiences, both positive and negative, have a tremendous impact on future violence victimization and perpetration, and lifelong health and opportunity. As such, early experiences are an important public health issue. Much of the foundational research in this area has been referred to as Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs).

Violence is a serious public health problem. From infants to the elderly, it affects people in all stages of life. Many more survive violence and suffer physical, mental, and or emotional health problems throughout the rest of their lives. CDC is committed to stopping violence before it begins.

International Journal: Child Abuse & Neglect
https://www.journals.elsevier.com/child-abuse-and-neglect

Rubin DM, Curtis ML, Matone M. Child Abuse Prevention and Child Home Visitation Making Sure We Get It Right. JAMA Pediatr. 2014;168(1):5-6. doi:10.1001/jamapediatrics.2013.3865

The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing, Merrick, M., Latzman, N., (January 31, 2014) "Child Maltreatment: A Public Health Overview and Prevention Considerations" OJIN: The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing Vol. 19, No. 1, Manuscript 2. Child maltreatment is a significant public health problem, affecting hundreds of millions of children globally. Child maltreatment has been linked to a variety of short- and long-term health consequences, including poor physical and mental health, changes to brain architecture and development, altered biological factors, reduced cognitive ability and educational achievement, and impaired psychosocial functioning. This article will define and describe the various types of Child maltreatment and its epidemiology from a public health perspective that considers incidence, prevalence, and consequences.

Shalev I, Heim CM, Noll JG. Child Maltreatment as a Root Cause of Mortality DisparitiesA Call for Rigorous Science to Mobilize Public Investment in Prevention and Treatment. JAMA Psychiatry. 2016;73(9):897-898. doi:10.1001/jamapsychiatry.2016.1748

Child Welfare Information Gateway promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children, youth, and families by connecting child welfare, adoption, and related professionals as well as the public to information, resources, and tools covering topics on child welfare, child abuse and neglect, out-of-home care, adoption, and more.
A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, we provide access to print and electronic publications, websites, databases, and online learning tools for improving child welfare practice, including resources that can be shared with families.

The Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) Study. The relationship of health risk behavior and disease in adulthood to the breadth of exposure to childhood emotional, physical, or sexual abuse, and household dysfunction during childhood.

Journal of Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology 2016 Apri:29(2):81-7 http://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpag.2015.01.007 (Open Access)
A previously published article on guidelines for Medical care for sexually abused children has been widely used by physicians, nurses, and nurse practitioners to inform practice guidelines in this field. Since 2007, when the article was published, new research has suggested changes in some of the guidelines and in the table that lists medical and laboratory findings in children evaluated for suspected sexual abuse and suggests how these findings should be interpreted with respect to sexual abuse.

“The Economics of Child Abuse: A Study of San Francisco” is a first-of-its-kind report quantifying the economic cost of child abuse to the San Francisco community. The report was created by the San Francisco Child Abuse Prevention Center in collaboration with Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkeley. http://sfcapc.org/CostOfAbuse/

The film Building Community, Building Hope highlights three innovative programs working to prevent and respond to child maltreatment by engaging parents and communities and forming the partnerships needed to ensure the safety and well-being of all children and families. (from Child Welfare Information Gateway)

Children's Bureau Child Abuse Prevention (CBCAP) Video (10:21 min).

“The Economics of Child Abuse: A Study of San Francisco” is a first-of-its-kind report quantifying the economic cost of child abuse to the San Francisco community. The report was created by the San Francisco Child Abuse Prevention Center in collaboration with Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkeley. http://sfcapc.org/CostOfAbuse/

The video is embedded and discussed on the ACES Too High Blog page (ACES=Adverse Childhood Experiences). The video is of 3 abuse survivors as they tell their stories.

linked from the San Francisco Child Abuse Prevention Center http://sfcapc.org/CostOfAbuse/

11 short (5-9 minutes) audio clips (read the article or transcript) or article discussing the connections between adult health and child hood trauma.

More than two decades ago,, clinical physician Dr. Vincent Felitti and CDC epidemiologist Robert Anda, published "Adverse Childhood Experiences Study ". It revealed a troubling but irrefutable phenomenon: the more traumatic experiences the respondents had as children (such as physical and emotional abuse and neglect), the more likely they were to develop health problems later in life. To complicate matters, there was also a troubling correlation between adverse childhood experiences and prevalence of drug and alcohol abuse, unprotected sex, and poor diet. Combined, the results of the study painted a staggering portrait of the price our children are paying for growing up in unsafe environments, all the while adding fuel to the fire of some of society’s greatest challenges.

select Video Series: Recognizing Child Abuse
accessible online through SIU Medical Library

Documentary Film of research on toxic stress and child health and development. Can toxic stress trigger hormones that wreak havoc on the brains and bodies of children, putting them at a greater risk for disease, homelessness, prison time, and early death. - by James Redford and Karen Pritzker, KPJR films.

Information Gateway's Prevention Month video gallery features videos from State and national organizations that show the true value of the community-based child abuse prevention programs.

Children’s Medical and Mental Health Resource Network (CMMHRN) is a program of Southern Illinois University School of Medicine's Department of Pediatrics. It is funded through a Children's Justice grant from the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services.
CMMHRN is part of a national trend toward centers for excellence in regard to the medical aspects of child protection. Because southern Illinois encompasses such large and predominantly rural area, CMMHRN fulfills that need by also maintaining a network of professionals. This network of physicians, nurse practitioners and physician's assistants are dedicated to the timely, humane and appropriate medical evaluation and care of children suspected to have been abused or neglected.

March 13 - 14 2017
MDT Enrichment & Development Training
Children's Advocacy Centers of Illinois

The directory is to be a resource to professionals who are involved in child protective services by providing detailed information about each health care providers’ training and expertise in the area of child maltreatment.

The Section on Child Abuse and Neglect is dedicated to improving the care of infants, children, and adolescents who are abused and neglected.

The Children's Bureau's information service, Child Welfare Information Gateway bulletins for professionals, factsheets for families, and issue briefs that cover research and evidence-based or evidence-informed practices for preventing maltreatment.

Nonprofit research organization focused exclusively on improving the lives and prospects of children, youth, and their families.

The Children's Bureau's Child Welfare Capacity Building Collaborative helps public child welfare agencies, Tribes, and courts enhance and mobilize the human and organizational assets necessary to meet Federal standards and requirements; improve child welfare practice and administration; and achieve safety, permanency, and well-being outcomes for children, youth, and families.

Family Resource Information, Education, and Network Development Service at https://friendsnrc.org

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) maintains and makes available a vast collection of materials related to a wide range of topics on medicine and human health, including domestic violence and forensic nursing. Listed is a selection of texts that detail the practice of forensic nursing from the NLM’s general collection; as well as the books and papers featured in Confronting Violence, Improving Women’s Lives that are part of the History of Nursing and Domestic Violence Collection, an assortment of items compiled by Dan Sheridan, which are in the NLM’s historical collections.

Online and Traveling Exhibit from the National Library of Medicine:
Activists and reformers in the United States have long recognized the harm of domestic violence and sought to improve the lives of women who were battered.

If you suspect abuse or neglect you have a social responsibility to report it to the hotline. In addition, state law requires that most professionals in education, health care, law enforcement and social work report suspected neglect or abuse. These individuals are called Mandated Reporters.

Child abuse is doing something or failing to do something that results in harm to a child or puts a child at risk of harm. Child abuse can be physical, sexual or emotional. Neglect, or not providing for a child's needs, is also a form of abuse. Page lists links to articles, organizations and other resources.

National Child Abuse Prevention Month is a time to acknowledge the importance of families and communities working together to prevent child abuse and neglect, and to promote the social and emotional well-being of children and families. During the month of April and throughout the year, communities are encouraged to share child abuse and neglect prevention awareness strategies and activities and promote prevention across the country.

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Resources to support professionals in their work with Spanish-speaking families and community members. Selected publications on child abuse and neglect, prevention, adoption, and more are available in both Spanish and English. Many can be viewed or ordered directly from this site.

Professionals outside the child welfare field play an important role in identifying risk, promoting protective factors, and preventing child abuse and neglect. List of Publications.

Strengthening Families™ is a research-informed approach to increase family strengths, enhance child development and reduce the likelihood of child abuse and neglect. It is based on engaging families, programs and communities in building five protective factors: Parental resilience, Social connections, Knowledge of parenting and child development, Concrete support in times of need, Social and emotional competence of children.

Therapeutic Use of Expressive Arts With Children. Social Work Today
By Don Phelps, PhD, LCSW

Information on Art Therapy - also see articles page https://www.trauma-informedpractice.com/resources/articles/

ACESTooHigh is a news site that reports on research about adverse childhood experiences, including developments in epidemiology, neurobiology, and the biomedical and epigenetic consequences of toxic stress. We also cover how people, organizations, agencies and communities are implementing practices based on the research. This includes developments in education, juvenile justice, criminal justice, public health, medicine, mental health, social services, and cities, counties and states.

Lessons from Literature is an innovative program that enlists English teachers — from all across the country — to use the books and material they are already teaching to facilitate discussion and build awareness about physical, verbal and sexual abuse. Prompted by a growing public interest in and demand for programs that seek to prevent abuse, Lessons from Literature helps address this problem among youth in the classroom and beyond.

The Lisa Project is a unique multi-sensory exhibit experience allowing the visitor to hear, see and experience the reality of the world of child abuse. Through audio narraration from a child’s perspective visitors are guided room by room through scenarios depicting abuse. This experience is fully immersing each guest into the world that these children face on a daily basis. The exhibit is rated PG-13 due to some mature content. Children under age 13 that come with guardians or parents will be allowed to walk through the exhibit but will not be given an audio device. The result of this experience is a community that is made more aware with positive and helpful steps given at the end of the tour to protect children and strengthen families.

@acestoohigh
News site covering trauma-informed care movement that uses concepts of CDC's Adverse Childhood Experience Study and child brain research. Jane Stevens, editor

@Childhelp
Childhelp® exists to meet the needs of abused, neglected and at-risk children. We focus our efforts on advocacy, prevention, treatment and community outreach.

From domestic and dating violence, to child abuse and sexual assault, Futures Without Violence, formerly Family Violence Prevention Fund, works to end some of the most pressing global issues of our time.
We advance the health, stability, education, and security of women and girls, men and boys worldwide. In 1994, Futures Without Violence was instrumental in developing the landmark Violence Against Women Act passed by the US Congress. http://www.futureswithoutviolence.org

@PCAIllinois
ALL children deserve to grow in homes free of abuse and neglect. When we help children today we ALL do better tomorrow.

The Trauma-Informed Practices & Expressive Arts Therapy Institute promoting art therapy, play therapy, expressive arts therapy, mindfulness and mind-body approaches to trauma intervention and integrative healthcare.

Voices for Illinois Children champions the full development of every child in Illinois to assure the future well-being of everyone in the state. We work with families, communities and policymakers on all issues to help children grow up healthy, happy, safe, loved and well educated.