LibGuides: Responsible Literature Searches: Information Resources

Citation and Abstract Databases

"Best bet" citation databases for searching the literature. Full text of articles may be available depending on Medical Library subscriptions.

Remember that articles behind paywalls can be requested through Interlibrary Loan (don't pay for articles!)

For assistance with accessing or searching these databases, contact the Medical Library.

PubMed@SIUMED
Excellent database for finding medical literature. PubMed searches biomedical articles from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Provides citations and abstracts for literature in the fields of biomedicine, nursing, behavioral science, health care systems, dentistry, and more.
Web of Science
Web of Science contains journal articles, conference proceedings, datasets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database containing full text articles from scholarly journals and popular publications like magazines and newspapers.

Clinical Pharmacology
Comprehensive drug information, includes drug identifier. Search for drugs, indications, reactions.
PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database from National Institutes of Health (NIH). Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

UptoDate
Physician-authored clinical decision support resource
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is peer reviewed, evidence-based, point of care reference tool designed for physicians. Provides access to a wide variety of resources including e-books, journals and articles, practice guidelines, and clinical trials.
Access Medicine
AccessMedicine provides access to core textbooks, multimedia, diagnostic tools, and other resources.
Cochrane Library
Evidence-based collection of databases that contain high-level evidence to inform clinical treatments and decision making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Health Technology Assessments, and more.