Skip to main content

Medical Library


Finding Full Text Articles

Steps to finding and accessing full text articles.

Citation Linker

If you already have your citation and want to see if the Library has access to the full text, use either the PubMed Single Citation Matcher or the the Library's Citation Linker.

You can find the Library Citation Linker on the Library homepage in the "Find" Menu.

Fill in as much citation information (title, author, journal, etc.) as you can, or use the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) or PMID (PubMed IDentifier) for the article.

Screenshot of the Citation Linker filled in with the following citation: Bennett DR. Zinc toxicity following massive coin ingestion.  American Journal of Forensic Medicine and Pathology. 1997 Jun;18(2):148-53

A new tab will open showing the options you have for access:

  • Full text available via [the content provider], with a link to the full text. OR
  • Request the article via Interlibrary Loan service.
  • Search for a print copy in the SIU Medical Library Catalog.
  • Holdings in I-Share Union Catalog (a statewide catalog to search other libraries).

Selecting the "full text available via" link from an off-network device will redirect to an SIU Medicine sign-on page. Upon authentication, you will be directed to the article. If we are able to fill Interlibrary loan requests they will generally arrive within about one week, usually as PDFs.

PubMed links to their Single Citation Matcher on the front page. It does not include PMID or DOI, however, if you know the PMID you can use it in the general PubMed Search box.

undefined

See the Searching PubMed sections of this guide for SIU affiliates or non-affiliates for more information on finding article full-text when using PubMed.

Searching the Library's E-Journals List

To see if the Medical Library has access to the full text of a specific journal title, search either the E-Journal A-Z list or the E-journals tab of the Search All Resources box, both located in the Find menu.


Type in your search terms Y
ou can choose to search for titles

  • that begin with your search words by selecting "Starts with";
  • that include your search words anywhere in the title by selecting "Contains"; or
  • by their exact title, by selecting "Exact."

Click "Go."


Click on the journal in the results list to view the journal's availability. A new screen will open that includes information about the Library's electronic access to the journal, such as which dates are included in our subscription and the content provider. If we have online access there will be a link to the full text archive.

In most cases this will link to the publisher's site or a database such as ClincialKey. Navigate to the Archives or Past Issues section to to view the specific journal issue and look through the table of contents until you find the article you're interested in.  Most publisher sites and databases will also have a search box where you can search for the article title, topic, or author if you do not know the full citation.

SIU Medical Library | 801 N Rutledge St.,Springfield, IL 62702 | (217) 545-2658

Contact Us

© 2018 SIU Board of Trustees | SIU Carbondale | EEO | Privacy Policy | Notice of Privacy Practices