This is the "Mobile Apps" page of the "Mobile Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mobile Resources   Tags: mobile apps, mobile resources  

Medical resources formatted for use on mobile devices. Some are free to the public, others are only available to SIU School of Medicine users.
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2014 URL: http://libguides.siumed.edu/mobile Print Guide RSS Updates

Mobile Apps Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Apps for SIUSM users

Clinical Pharmacology App

Clinical Pharmacology Mobile App

Download the Elsevier Clinical Pharmacology app at either the Apple or Android app store:

  • Apple – Elsevier Clinical Pharmacology
  • Android – Clinical Pharmacology

If you already have a user name and password, once the app is installed on your device, simply log in using your current user name and password.  

SIUSM users who do not have a user name and password  may go to the Clinical Pharmacology home page and click on CP Mobile App to register and receive a user name and password.


DynaMedDynamed

iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, BlackBerry, Android

See http://dynamed.ebscohost.com/access/mobile for technical requirements and installation instruction.

A DynaMed serial number is required to download DynaMed on your mobile device. Contact Reference Staff to request a serial number: reference@siumed.edu


EbscoHost EbscoHost Mobile App

iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Android

See http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=5718 for technical requirements and installation instruction


First Consult iconFirst Consult App

iPod, iTouch, iPad

Download through iTunes.

Available to SIUSM users through ClinicalKey.  The app allows First Consult’s  content to be stored on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch. A data connection is required for the initial content download and content updates, but is not required to use the app itself.

Requires creation of a personal ClinicalKey account to begin using the app.

Health Related Mobile Apps

  • AIDSinfo HIV/AIDS Glossary
    For iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad.
    The AIDSinfo HIV/AIDS Glossary is a powerful tool that provides mobile access to over 850 pertinent HIV/AIDS glossary terms in both English and Spanish.
  • Embryo
    For iPhone, iPod Touch.
    Visually explore human embryo development with the Embryo app.
  • Health Hotlines
    For iPhone/iPod Touch.
    Health Hotlines is a directory of organizations with toll-free telephone numbers. It is derived from DIRLINE, the National Library of Medicine's Directory of Information Resources Online. This database contains descriptions of almost 9,000 biomedical organizations and resources.
  • LactMed App
    For iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, and Android
    Need to know more about drugs and breastfeeding? LactMed can help. Find information about maternal and infant drug levels, possible effects on lactation and on breastfed infants, and alternative drugs to consider.
  • Preventing Chronic Disease (PCD)
    Available for the iPhone and iPad. From the CDC for Public Health Research, Practice and Policy. Includes the latest and most relevant peer-reviewed research on public health efforts to prevent chronic disease. Provides researchers, health practitioners, students, or policy makers, an open exchange on the very latest in chronic disease prevention, research findings, public health interventions, and the exploration of new theories and concepts.
  • Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)
    For iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Android, Windows Mobile and Blackberry.
    Downloadable application providing health care providers with guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of radiation injuries during radiation and nuclear emergencies.
  • Shots by STFM
    For iPhone and Android.
    Free app produced by the Society for Teachers of Family Medicine includes all of the content included in the annual printed immunization schedules published by the CDC.
  • Skyscape Medical Resources App
    iPhone, iPad, Android, Blackberry.
    Free app that includes RxDrugs, Archimedes, Outlines in Clinical Medicine and MedAlert. Other premium content can be added for a fee.
  • Wireless System for Emergency Responders (WISER)
    For iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Palm OS PDAs, and Blackberry.
    Stand-alone application (or downloadable application) to assist emergency responders in hazardous materials incidents.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip