Skip to main content

Medical Library


Finding Full Text Articles

Steps to finding and accessing full text articles.

PubMed@SIUMED

The Library's paid subscriptions often include articles that are not available for free through PubMed. If you are searching from the School of Medicine Campus or you are an affiliate searching from home do not use the "full text" limiter when searching PubMed. Doing so will filter out articles you can access through library resources. Instead, access PubMed through the PubMed@SIUMED link found on  the Medical Library's "Key Resources list." Using this link allows you to easily locate the full text for articles the library pays for. This information will be displayed when viewing the list of results in the Abstract display format.

 

 

After running your seScreenshot of the results list of a PubMed search.arch, click on the article title of interest to display the results in the Abstract format.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To the upper right of the reference you will see a publisher icon, the FindIt@SIUMED button, or both. Clicking the publisher icon may take you to the full text, the journal index or archive page, or ask for a username or password.

The FindIt@SIUMED button will take you to an SFX screen that will give several choices:

  • Full text available via [the content provider], with a link to the full text.
  • Search for a print copy in the SIU Medical Library Catalog.
  • Holdings in I-Share Union Catalog (a statewide catalog to search other libraries).

If full text is not available online, there will also be an option to request the article via our Interlibrary Loan service. Articles are sent to the requester in about one week as PDFs.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey indexes and provides full text access to:

  • 500 journals
  • the Clinics of North America series
  • 1000+ textbooks
  • 1000+ videos and images
  • FirstConsult (point of care tool)
  • ProcedureConsult
  • Clinical Pharmacology
  • Practice Guidelines
  • Patient Education materials

Access to ClinicalKey from off campus is available through the proxy server. Use the ClinicalKey link from the Library's home page when off campus.

You can search for full text articles by topic using the search box, or find articles through their journal index.
 (For instructions on finding specific articles using journal archives, see the "Known Citations" section of this guide.)

If using the search box, filter results to full text articles using the sidebar on the results page. You may also use the search box drop down to narrow the results to journals, however, this includes citations from Medline that may not be available as full text through Clinical Key. Click the PDF icon by the article title to download full text, or click the title to read the article in your internet browser.

Google Scholar @ Morris

Searching Google Scholar from a campus computer or through the Medical Library's tabbed search box will allow you to check whether the results are within the SIUSM library collection.

Click "More" underneath the citation you are interested, and then click "Check Holdings @ SIUSM."

The FindIt@SIUMED button will take you to an SFX screen that will give several choices:

  • Full text available via [the content provider], with a link to the full text. OR
  • Request the article via Interlibrary Loan service.
  • Search for a print copy in the SIU Medical Library Catalog.
  • Holdings in I-Share Union Catalog (a statewide catalog to search other libraries).

If we are able to fill Interlibrary loan requests they will generally arrive within about one week, usually as PDFs.

Other Databases

Web of Science

Web of Science is a subset of the Web of Knowledge article citation database. Web of Science indexes articles in the arts, sciences, and social sciences. It also is a great tool for cited reference searching.

The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following:

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1956-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)

Web of Science is an article index and does not include full text of articles, however, you can use the Find Full Text button to check whether it is available through other subscriptions:

The School of Medicine has access to Web of Science through SIU-Carbondale's Morris Library, so the Find Full Text link provides information about their collections. On occasion the Medical Library may have access to articles not available through Morris. If there is no full text available through Morris, check the Medical Library catalog and electronic journal list to see if the Medical Library subscribes to the journal. If we do not, contact the reference desk (reference@siumed.edu) for help or place an Interlibrary Loan request.

EbscoHost Research Databases

EbscoHost Research Databases provide access to a number of databases in the health sciences, business, education and other areas. Many of these databases provide access to full text articles. These databases can be searched singularly or together through subject or author searches.  The link can also be found in the Quick Links menu on the Library's home page.

Medline Complete

  • Includes the 5400 journals found in PubMed
  • Provides full text access to more than 1800 journals
  • Provides results dating back as far as 1857 with full text available back to 1865

Academic Search Premier

  • A multi-disciplinary database with full text for more thatn 4600 journals
  • PDF backfiles to 1975
  • Searchable cited references for more than 1000 titles

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

  • Nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines

ERIC

  • Links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966 from the Education Resource Information Center

SIU Medical Library | 801 N Rutledge St.,Springfield, IL 62702 | (217) 545-2658

Contact Us

© 2018 SIU Board of Trustees | SIU Carbondale | EEO | Privacy Policy | Notice of Privacy Practices