Skip to main content

Medical Library/Information & Communication Sciences

Finding Full Text Articles

Steps to finding and accessing full text articles.

Citation Linker

If you already have your citation and want to see if the Library has access to the full text, use the Citation Linker.

The Citation Linker will ask you to fill in the bibliographic information about the reference.

The Citation Linker can be found from the Library's Home Page, under the Find menu, under the Article link or use the link below

Searching the Library's E-Journals List

To see if the Medical Library has access to the full text of a specific journal title, search the E-Journal A-Z list found under the Find menu on the Library's Home page.

To search: type the Journal name in the Title box.

Choose either:

  • "Starts with" for titles that begin with the words you typed;
  • "Contains"  if you just have some of the words of the title;
  • "Exact" if you have the exact title of the journal

If the full text is available, a screen will appear with the links to the location of the full text.

In many cases this will link to the publisher's site. Search the Archives or Past Issues link to get to the specific journal issue. Search the table of contents until the article is located.

PubMed

Use the PubMed@SIUMED link found on  the Medical Library's home page to access PubMed. This link will provide information on the availability of full text articles owned by the Medical Library. This information will be displayed when viewing the list of results in the Abstract display format.

After running a subject or author search, display the results in the Abstract format.

1. To the upper right of the reference you will see the Publisher icon for the article. Click on this.

  • It may take you to the full text.
  • It may ask you for a user name and password.

2. If the publisher's link does not work or there is not a user name and password, click the LinkOut link found below the abstract.

  • Try each of the choices here.

3. If steps 1 and 2 do not work, click on the Find it @ SIUSM button next to the Publisher link. This takes you to the SFX screen that will give several choices.

  • Full text available by (a link to the full text will appear here).

If the full text is not available the following options appear:

  • Search for a print copy in the SIU Medical Library Catalog.
  • Holdings in I-Share VuFind (statewide catalog to search other libraries).
  • Request document via Interlibrary Loan. When this is chosen, a form with the blbliographic information filled out appears. Complete your contact information and submit the form. Articles are sent to the requester in about one week as PDFs.

PubMed Central

  • PubMed Central was developed and is operated by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), a division of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).
  • PubMed Central (PMC) is a digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
  • PubMed Central began operating in February 2000.
  • PMC contains nearly 2 million articles, most of which have a corresponding entry in PubMed.
  • The currency and age of material in PubMed Central varies by journal.
    • Many journals make their content available in PMC as soon as it is published.
    • Others may delay release of content in PMC for anywhere from a few months to more than a year after publication.
    • Most journals provide free access to full text in PMC within a year of publication.
  • NLM has digitized the earlier print issues of many of the PMC journals in order to provide online access to the complete run of issues of these journals.
    • PMC has material dating back to mid- to late-1800s or early 1900s for some journals.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey indexes and provides full text access to

  • 500 journals
  • the Clinics of North America series
  • 1000+ textbooks
  • 1000+ videos and images
  • FirstConsult (point of care tool)
  • ProcedureConsult
  • Clinical Pharmacology
  • Practice Guidelines
  • Patient Education materials

All are available for searching through the ClinicalKey site.

Access to ClinicalKey from off campus is available through the proxy server. Use the ClinicalKey link from the Library's home page when off campus.

Searching Other Databases

EbscoHost Research Databases provide access to a number of databases in the health sciences, business, education and other areas. Many of these databases provide access to full text articles. These databases can be searched singularly or together through subject or author searches.  The link can also be found in the Quick Links menu on the Library's home page.

Medline Complete

  • Includes the 5400 journals found in PubMed
  • Provides full text access to more than 1800 journals
  • Provides results dating back as far as 1857 with full text available back to 1865

Academic Search Premier

  • A multi-disciplinary database with full text for more thatn 4600 journals
  • PDF backfiles to 1975
  • Searchable cited references for more than 1000 titles

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

  • Nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines

ERIC

  • Links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966 from the Education Resource Information Center

Searching Google Scholar

A subject search in Google Scholar will display a list of results.

  • The Library's Find It @ SIUSM link will appear beneath the references that are available. You may have to click "More" to display the Find It link.
  • Also, a Find Full Text @ Morris link will  be shown to the right of the references if Morris Library owns the publication.

Google Search

  1. In the Google search box, type in the author's name and title of the article.
  2. When the information appears, click on the link to see if the full text is available

If the above does not work:

  1. Type in just the name of the journal.
  2. Go to the Journal home page and search in the Archives/Past Issues link to the journal volumes and issues.
  3. Find the correct volume and issue and search the Table of Contents for the article. The article might be available full text.

Partners in Information Access

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet. How to access journal information and find free full text journal articles can be found here as well as other strategies to obtain journal articles.

Contact Us

SIU Medical Library

Ask A Librarian

Call: 217-545-2113
email: reference@siumed.edu

801 N. Rutledge St.
P.O. Box 19625
Springfield, IL
62794-9625

SIU Medical Library | 801 N Rutledge St.,Springfield, IL 62702 | (217) 545-2658

Contact Us

Privacy Policy | SIU School of Medicine

Copyright © 2015-2016 Board of Trustees, Southern Illinois University