Information and links on citing online and print sources
Last Updated: Dec 12, 2012
- Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences
From the University of Toledo, these pages provide links to Web sites which provide instructions to authors for over 6,000 journals in the health and life sciences. All links are to "primary sources" - that is, to publishers and organizations with editorial responsibilities for the titles.
- List of Serials Indexed for Online Users
Provides bibliographic information for all journals ever indexed in the PubMed® database. It includes titles that ceased publication, changed titles, or are no longer indexed. The 2011 edition contains 14,287 serial titles.
- American Medical Association (AMA) Citation Style
Developed by Boston University Medical School, provides examples of different citations styles based on the AMA Style Guide.
- APA Style Help
Provides suggestions and tutorials for using the citation style from the "Publication Manual of American Psychological Association".
- Chicago Manual of Style
The tools provided here are intended to help authors prepare manuscripts for submission to the press. They will also be of use to writers, editors, and publishers at other organizations who are looking for models for procedure and content.
- Citing Electronic Resources
From the Library of Congress this site provides an overview of citing primary literature with examples from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed, and the MLA Style Manual, 6th ed.
- Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors and Publishers
PDF version of the book published by the National Library of Medicine with 2009 updates.
- Research and Documentation Online
Includes guidelines for MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE styles, as well as "tips for evaluating sources, a glossary of research terms and a list of style manuals in many disciplines.
- Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals: Writing and Editing for Biomedical Publication
The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) meet annually to revise the requirements as needed. The ICMJE is also concerned with the ethical principles related to publication in biomedical journals and have developed statements on editorial policies.