Skip to main content

Medical Library


Finding Full Text Articles

Steps to finding and accessing full text articles.

PubMed and PubMed Central

PubMed (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/)    

PubMed Central (PMC) (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/)
  • Free article index - citation information for over 25 million articles.
  • Citations for biomedical, life, and general science articles, as well as manuscripts by NIH funded authors.
  • May includes links to the full text on publisher websites, but does not necessarily provide free full text.

PubMed has information on more articles, but has limited free full-text.

  • Free article archive- articles deposited by journals and manuscripts deposited by authors whose research is funded with public money.
  • Biomedical and life sciences articles.
  • Provides free full-text access to all included literature.
  • Participating journals may elect for a delay or embargo between article publication and inclusion in PMC.

All articles in PMC are freely available, but it includes less articles.

Accessing Articles in PMC:

1. Click on the article you are interested in reading.

2. In the upper right there are several options for access, including a PDF download of the article.

Accessing Articles in PubMed:

1. To find articles freely available to the public, ensure the free-full text filter is selected. Click the title of the article of interest. SIU School of Medicine affiliates amd guests using the Library's computers should use PubMed@SIUMED instead of of the full text filter.

2. In the upper right corner of the article index page there will be links to sites where the full text is available.

Searching Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that searches the web for scholarly literature such as journal articles, meeting abstracts and scholarly books. It also includes other types of information from professional societies, academic publishers, and other authoritative sources.

Search results include links to related resources, estimates of how often the article has been cited, and, when available, links to the full text.

SIU Medical Library | 801 N Rutledge St.,Springfield, IL 62702 | (217) 545-2658

Contact Us

© 2018 SIU Board of Trustees | SIU Carbondale | EEO | Privacy Policy | Notice of Privacy Practices